Pocket BBQs, Just in Time For Summer!

Ahh summer! As the soft breeze floats gently through my office window, all I can smell is the meandering waft of the neighbourhood BBQ joint, making me wish I was sitting outside somewhere eating a burger, feeling the grass between my toes…but alas, I am stuck at my desk, and have only my imagination and the vast expanse of the internet to entertain me for the next three hours. If only I could set up a BBQ right here at my desk…

Hammacher.com offers a solution for my dilemma,  with the Fold Flat Grill. Since it’s less than an inch thick, you can carry it around and set it up anywhere you want! It unfolds to a respectable size (17 3/4″ L x 13″ W x 13″ H) and boasts a 17 1/2″ x 13″  cooking area. There’s vents that let air in to the charcoal well, that doubles as an ash receptacle, which is easy to empty, and there’s a 3″ shelf created by the sloped sides of the grill for indirect heat to reach buns and veggies. For under $80, you can still afford to grab a case of beer to go with your meal!  Another option is the Carry & Go Briefcase BBQ, which fits snugly into a briefcase so you can take it anywhere. Sounds like it would be a hit at  my next meeting! Both are also available on iWOOT (but may currently be out of stock!).

If you’re looking for something smaller and more lightweight, you can always try the Grilliput. This little grill stands only 6 inches tall and weighs in at less than a pound, which is awesome for long hiking and camping trips. The entire grill collapses into one of the tubes, which adds less than a foot in length and one inch in diameter. Imagine, a grill that fits in your pocket! You can find this tiny wonder at outdoor outlets such as REI and Campmor.

With any of these three awesome travel Q’s, I could potentially be the office hero!

Leave a Reply

